The sum of Me

i am so tired of everything being about race, or gender, or sexuality.

Race shouldn’t matter,
gender shouldn’t matter,
sexuality shouldn’t matter,
none of it should matter.

We are all people.

The only thing that should mean anything
is how we treat other people.

I am not the color of my skin,
i am not the people i love,
i am not what’s between my legs or on my chest or in my head.

I am just a person, and none of that should matter.

What should matter is how i helped someone pick up their books this morning,
or how i talked about someone behind their back yesterday.

If you want to judge me, judge me for the choices i make, not the amalgamation of bits and pieces that creates the shell that those choices fill.

I am not my race, or my gender, or my sexuality,
and by god i am more than the sum of my parts.

Leave a Reply

